Narration (parentheses?) To Speak or Not to Speak?

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
Dave182

Post by Dave182 » May 27th, 2020, 3:55 am

As a newbie, I am still struggling with how to handle parentheses? I am reading non fiction and whilst there is still expression within the text, I often come by a lot of parentheses words and phrases. Sometimes I think it's best to leave them out or at the very least, speak the parentheses words and terms after the sentence. My only course of action to let the reader know that I have happened upon parentheses is to change my tone, but even then I often find it interrupts the flow. Other times I think it complicate things if the reader is just listening and not reading along.

Here is an example of text I came along, where I finally decided I should make a post to get assistance on how to handle brackets when narrating. I seem to come across of lot of them when reading non fiction texts that are teaching.

Within You is the Power by HENRY THOMAS HAMBLIN:
End of Chapter 1 -Infinite Life and Power
"Like the prodigal son he must "come to himself," and leave the husks and the swine in the far country, returning to his Father's house, where there is bread (of life) enough and to spare."

Am I meant to narrate the word by saying "parentheses" then the "word/term" with "parentheses" afterwards as if I am text to speech?

How do you guys approach parentheses when narrating such books without killing the flow and leaving those listeners who are not reading confused.
Looking for Constructive Criticism. Please PM CC via my profile. Thank You.

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by mightyfelix » May 27th, 2020, 6:18 am

This is a good question. What you should NOT do is leave them out.